Learning Python is the Start of Something Good

Learning Python is the Start of Something Good

Code and chill!

Barely a month ago, I wrote my first line of code, the hello world program, and considered myself a software engineer. Talk of "breaking a toothpick to become a woodcutter," I was never going to look back. When hanging out with friends I consider Techies, I'd barely said a word on matters of programming since I was unfamiliar with the tech jargon.

Lowkey, I started becoming interested, particularly in the python language, after convincing myself that I did not have to possess supernatural powers to ace it. So the day I installed PyCharm on my laptop and successfully composed my first line of code, I knew I was unstoppable.

I consider myself a lucky lad since a close friend emailed me resources to start my coding journey. I clicked one of the links, and it directed me to a course called "Introduction to Computer Science and Programming" from MITOPENCOURSEWARE. I whispered to myself, "this is the start of something good."

Despite being nervous, I focused on my greatest strength, the willingness to learn! The energy was there, the enthusiasm, the drive, the time, motivation, and focus. I had all the tools I required to kick-start this fascinating endeavor. The ball is in my court, which my clique loosely translates to "play like yourself!"

As I embark on coding, I am aware that I will face some challenges along the way. Thus, I am preparing my mind not to listen to the ‘noises’ that spell doom and failure. You’d agree with me that motivation and inspiration have an expiry date, right? But what separates us from others? Staying consistent.

Since I am not free as I have to chase the bread to pay bills, I allocate at least 3 hours of coding daily. So far, I am proud that everything is falling into place. I have managed to compose some basic programs such as generating the Mad Libs game, building a basic calculator, and building a guessing game. I want to thank myself for this remarkable progress.

For beginners like me, welcome to my Ted Talks. If interested in learning how to code, look for a place to start. A well-outlined plan that will teach you the basic stuff before proceeding to intermediate and expert levels. I am using the MIT course “Introduction to Computer Science and Programming," Python Tutorial for Beginners by Mosh Hamedani [He's a fantastic teacher], and an online Udemy course “Python Programming, From Basics to Advanced Levels.”

I have recently discovered Twitter is resourceful and will expose you to mind-blowing ideas if you curate your timeline and follow the right people. I signed up on Hashnode to update the steps I encounter in my coding journey. It's about time I publish my first article on programming. Welcome aboard!

A code a day keep the bugs away

Adios!